Posted on

I know I’m not much at spelling, but am I a complete illiterate?


Recently I’ve noticed the word UNKEMPT popping up in a lot of books. During my childhood I would have used the word UNKEPT (The spell-check is even telling me that I was wrong). When I asked my wife she said “UNKEMPT and KEMPT”. (Now the spell-check is telling me that KEMPT is wrong, however the dictionary seems to think it’s perfectly acceptable). So I am lead to believe that if we look presentable we are KEPT or WELL KEPT or KEMPT or WELL KEMPT but if we look messy we are UNKEMPT. Something just ‘aint right about that, and don’t get me started about AITCH and HAITCH.

About ispiderbook

Anthony is a first time novelist who is based in Sydney Australia.

3 responses to “I know I’m not much at spelling, but am I a complete illiterate?

  1. Also, you can “disabuse” someone of a notion, but you can’t “abuse” them of it, and can “debunk” a theory even if it’s already bunk.

  2. Laura

    I had never heard of or read “unkept” until this week when I read it on yahoo. I had always used the word “unkempt.” And as I typed “unkept,” the spell-checker underlined it in red. Even it doesn’t like that word.

Leave a Reply

