Posted on

The World’s slowest reader.


I read slower than just about anybody in the world. I’m not backward, or at least I don’t think I am.

My daughter is in grade one and she reads aloud faster than I read internally. In my defense she is on level 25 and, I’m told, is very advanced for grade one.

A gift.

I honestly believe that this slow reading is a gift. Why? Because every second, minute, hour, day, week and month that I plod through a novel I am building an emotional connection to that novel, to its story and especially to its characters.

Even to the point where I carry that emotion in between reading sessions; quite often squarely on my shoulders.

Love, lust, fear, anxiety, joy; I become totally immersed in them.

The most extreme example of this was at the age of 25 finally I read the “Lord of the Rings” trilogy.

Even though I could barely put the books down they took me months to read.

During that time I flipped my way slowly into the depths of Mordor, my mood and behavior becoming darker, more somber with each page. To use a word from Tolkien, I became Grimm.

I’m sure that before I had finished the series I had developed a stoop.

It is one thing to read of another’s journey, it is another altogether to live it emotionally.

So to all of you speed readers and skimmers out there I offer my condolences, you don’t know what you are missing.

About ispiderbook

Anthony is a first time novelist who is based in Sydney Australia.

19 responses to “The World’s slowest reader.

  1. very true. sometimes i feel i speed through books and miss stuff. I should sllloow it down!

  2. I’m a slow eater for similar reasons.

    • I totally get that. I once said to a friend “I love those Gow Gees, I could eat 50 of them. To which he replied,”I bet you can’t.” I only ate 43 and I was very ill.

  3. Uzoma

    Hmm…I should reconsider my reading speed then. I have been accustomed to two novels in two and a half weeks when I was younger. But you have pointed out something quite interesting.

    love your blog, BTW.

  4. I have nominated you for the ‘Wonderful Team Member Readership Award’. Congratulations! To learn more, visit my blog: http://thelifeandtimesofaforeverwitch.wordpress.com/2012/10/04/better-late-than-never/
    Brightest Blessings

  5. nettrobbens ⋅

    Thanks for stopping by and liking my post. By the way, consider your reading speed as savoring every word you take in.

    Best,
    Nett

  6. Thank you for your comments-I too have been to the Emperor’s palace in Japan but didn’t see the fireflies there. Keep visiting. Your blog looks great.

    Patricia

  7. Thank you for your comment. That poem was dedicated to my husband after he passed away. I hope you will continue to visit my blog. Patricia

  8. I thought I read slow, it takes 48 hrs to read a book I like and a few weeks to read one I’m not liking as much. My mom and daughter can read 2 novels in 24 hours and hold conversations about both for a week! I do seem to miss some stuff, but I do feel like I’ve connected with it. (If I liked the novel)
    I will show them your post, when they tease me next time.
    “I’m not a slow reader, I connect to the novel. See here’s back up to prove my fact.”
    LOL

  9. Heather

    Here’s to slow reading! I feel like I’m a slow reader too, but because you are right, each word is a gift.

  10. I love this post. I read at three speeds…slow/slower/come and get it…That is not original, but it describes my reading. Hope to read more of your observations…

  11. jalal michael sabbagh.http://gravatar.com/jmsabbagh86@gmail.com ⋅

    Thank you very much for liking my posts.Mutual respect.Jalal

  12. Pingback: Apocalypse. The end is nigh. « i spider

Leave a Reply

