Posted on

Creating a monster


I’m about half way through my next book and my antagonist (my bad guy) is a New York Fashion Designer, a former student of the famous Parson’s School of Design. His name is Karl, and in primary school he was tormented with the nicknames ‘Karloff’, ‘Boris Karloff’ and eventually ‘Boris’. Karl calls his Fashion label KARLOFF and with a “Beauty and the Beast”, theme he does well.
I like to have photographs in my novels, in the same way they appear in biography’s and autobiography’s. It gives the story a new layer of credibility.
Here’s a rough mock-up I put together for Karl’s office. I might have to change the name of his fashion label to BORIS or KARL-OFF, but I like KARLOFF more, and as far as I can tell there isn’t a fashion label called KARLOFF. (There is a Vodka). I love the idea of the Perfume bottle that looks like a monster, I’ll probably need to change that too.
The fashion was inspired by the great Oleg Cassini, who had a lot to do with dressing Jacqueline Kennedy Onassis and Marilyn Monroe. Heda Hopper commented on his pencil mustache so he sent her a telegram, “…I’ll shave mine if you shave yours.”
I wrote my first sex scene yesterday, and I don’t mind admitting that it was difficult. Being a gentleman, it’s not a subject that you spend a lot of time talking about. Is it a ‘penis’, is it an ‘erection’ or is it ‘his throbbing manhood’. So the Karloff office design was really just a distraction from giving a knob a name.

About ispiderbook

Anthony is a first time novelist who is based in Sydney Australia.

7 responses to “Creating a monster

  1. I really like the room πŸ™‚

  2. boomiebol

    Oh wow!!! Impressive images for his office… I like Karloff too… Well done

  3. I love the photos, I might need a perfume that comes in a Frankenstein head.
    I write clean, that is probably the second reason for clean writing. πŸ˜€

  4. Oh, good grief. “Throbbing manhood” — what next? “Heaving bosom”?

    I like the Frankenstein bottle, too, but I just realized the model is wearing an entire face, which is wonderfully creepy.

Leave a Reply

