Posted on

I couldn’t see Santa as he approached from the sea through the sea of children.


santa

.

My seven year old daughter did Nippers this year. Nippers is surf training for kids. It was a little disappointing. Many of the events have a knock out component, so if you’re not one of the fastest kids you spend your whole day building sandcastles. Being the slowest, my daughter probably won’t return next year.

On the last day of Nippers for the year I saw a sight to rival a Cecil B Demill movie. It was completely surreal. It was twilight when Santa Clause arrived. The sun was beginning to set so everything had an orange glow and the clear blue water was almost luminous. Ringing his bell, Santa came zooming from out in the ocean, up to the beach in a red rubber ducky (rescue craft). Thousands of children converged in from all over the beach to greet him. I couldn’t see Santa for the sea of children. I put my youngest on my shoulders and walked down to see if we could get a glimpse of him.

When Santa finally emerged from the crowd to make his way up to the Lifesaving Clubhouse he was a just another  ‘yobbo’ in a suit who’s pants were falling down and who’s beard was constantly falling off. Which just made it all the better. My kids loved it, but not as much as I did.

About ispiderbook

Anthony is a first time novelist who is based in Sydney Australia.

2 responses to “I couldn’t see Santa as he approached from the sea through the sea of children.

  1. Fun story – even if I am reading it well past christmas!

Leave a Reply

