Posted on

Who owns what?


As the author of horror/physiological thriller books it’s probably hard for the readers of my blog to imagine me writing in any other genre. But I do wear other hats. In fact, I have written a handful of kids books and even published a couple, strange as it may appear, this is my favorite genre.
As a father of two, one is three the other seven, I have written these stories for my children. The first two books I wrote while my wife was in hospital after giving birth to the eldest, I can’t sit and do nothing. My eldest is now at school and spends most nights reading her home reader, so our little stories have stopped, but every day for a little over three years I would tell her a bedtime story. Every night the story would contain three pandas and a mousey. She was the mousey and the three pandas were toys that sat upon her bed waiting for their nighttime adventure. Each night I would tell my daughter a story and she in turn would have to tell me a story. So each night I would effectively have to create two stories,  mine and hers. The story would always start the same way, but then they would go in whatever direction our whims would take us. I have published two of these stories and I’m in the midst of writing an epic third.
My question to you dear reader is, WHO OWNS WHAT? One of the stories I told my daughter was about a naughty prawn (Krill) “PRAWN TO BE WILD”.  This came from a drunken BBQ where these lyrics seemed appropriate to the classic song from easy rider. The story I told my daughter was about a prawn who gets up to all sorts of mischief.  Before writing the idea up as a children’s book I googled it. There was an obscure game in Canada for Vodafone and a T shirt in the US. Although the title is the same, my story is completely unique. Can I still write this book and publish it? I can change the title easily, Krill of the chase, The thrill of the krill.
One night before we went to bed I brushed her hair and as she still does to this day, she winged and complained about the knots. The story I told that night was about tangle fairy’s. A year or so later I looked it up on google again, and there are lots of them. One book, not the oldest,  was even written by a five year old. Ours was a poem, they lived in a knotted tree, tied knots in fishing lines under wharfs and were not the nicest fairies. Can I still write this book and publish it?
The reason I brought this up is that last night I couldn’t sleep. I’m writing a book that is hugely complicated so instead of thinking about the problem at hand I procrastinated. I had an idea for a young kids horror book called ZOMBEES or ZOMBEE apocalypse.  You know, little honey bees with wonky eyes and that walk where they drag their back leg. There are hundreds of illustrations and a real species of mite that lays its eggs in honey bees in California all using ‘zombees’. So last night I designed and illustrated a first draft front cover and wrote three pages of the book. (I’m tired today).
a
Can I still write this book and publish it?
Oh, and by the way, every night for three years we did that thing where my daughter sits on my shoulders and I pretend I can’t find her. We did that until she was tall enough to clock her head on one of the door frames. Try keeping that routine fresh for three years.
About ispiderbook

Anthony is a first time novelist who is based in Sydney Australia.

8 responses to “Who owns what?

  1. This very detail makes an interesting background for a beautiful movie like “the pursuit for happiness”

  2. Mick ⋅

    Publish and be damned as someone once famously said.

  3. As far as “Prawn to Be Wild”, aren’t copyright lawns specific to medium? In other words, you couldn’t create another game or t-shirt with that name, but a kid’s book might be okay. Maybe add a subtitle? I haven’t seen anything else called ZomBEE Apocalypse, though.

    On a completely unrelated note, but your “Prawn” title reminded me: As a little kid, my son didn’t know the name for “gophers” and called them “yardbeavers”. This would prompt me to start singing “For Your Lawn”, after the Yardbirds. But he never got the joke. Oh, well.

  4. Pingback: King of the pocrasti-NATION | i spider

Leave a Reply

